Process

I can’t recall exactly which book it’s in – Mere Christianity or The Abolition of Man – but C.S. Lewis wrote something about human nature that struck a chord with me. To paraphrase: we all go through a cycle where our outlook waxes and wanes, and our emotions follow suit. We may ride the high for many weeks, perhaps even days, or we may experience more lows than those around us, but sure enough there will come a time when the tide will turn and we’re either on our way up or down for the next leg in the journey.

I’m not sure where I am in the process. I just know it’s time to give it another try.

My last post was over a year ago yet the sentiment remains as strong as before. I haven’t stopped working on my passion. I’ve just been unable to fit regular posts into my schedule. Work took me out of the country and it became necessary to restructure my day such that other priorities took precedent.

Now I’ve returned to a semblance of normality; at least, normal for what I was doing before. Thus it’s as good an opportunity as ever I’ve had.

The nice thing about living a normal life is the freedom to choose my workload. For example, a friend asked recently that I look over a draft of his current book and offer some feedback. I enjoy this sort of thing – I had the chance to do the same with a previous work, though the version I read wasn’t too far off from the published copy – but it’s definitely something that I can’t manage all the time. It’s fortunate that his need came about at a time when I have the freedom to fit in some extra reading.

It’s also fortunate because it got me thinking again. About the work we do and the things that inspire or motivate us. And yes, this particular post is filling out with a load of self-indulgent shit. But if that results in me pushing forward and writing more, like I keep telling myself I should, then it was worth something. So hopefully I haven’t wasted too much of your time.

Oh, and as far as Alexis’ newest work… well, I don’t know when it’ll be done and I can’t say much else about it, except that it’ll probably be worth the wait. His first book certainly was.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

